Review: Because I Am Furniture by Thalia Chaltas

because i am furniture

Hey guys! Anna here and welcome to a new segment on our blog called TeaStainedRants where we literally just rant about books, and feels and all the stuffs. These may be featured in book reviews or in separate posts and they may be positive or negative. Here, I will be reviewing and ranting about the book Because I Am Furniture by Thalia Chaltas. There will be a spoilers section! Enjoy~

Released: April 16, 2009

Series: Stand Alone

Publisher: Viking Juvenile

Pages: 352

Buy It: Amazon | Book Depository | Barnes and Noble

Screen Shot 2014-09-18 at 6.48.58 PM

Synopsis:

“Anke’s father is abusive to her brother and sister. But not to her. Because to him, she is like furniture – part of the background, invisible. Then Anke makes the school volleyball team. 

As Anke learns to call for the ball on the court, she finds a voice that she never knew she had. For the first time, Anke is making herself seen and heard, working toward the day that she will be able to speak up loud enough to rescue everyone at home – including herself.”

Review:

Now, as I was strolling through the rows of the school library, I happened across this book. It only caught my eye, though, because it was titled Because I Am Furniture. I was really hoping that maybe this book was about the world from a chair’s point of view or maybe even a girl who could transform into a couch. And in my opinion, this book would have been better if the book had taken one of my suggested plots.

Some basics about this book: It is written in free verse, which I didn’t know when I first picked it up but figured I would check it out knowing that it would be a fast read. I really enjoy books written in free verse but I did not enjoy this one.

SPOILERS NEXT!

I give this book 2 out of five stars for a number of reasons. First of all, I really felt that the main character’s focus wasn’t in the right place. The father is abusive throughout the entire novel, and although I understand that this is a difficult situation to be a part of, Anke spent a majority of her time worrying about boys and flirting with boys and spending her energy on volleyball. And yes, volleyball was important because it helped her find her voice, but I don’t think it was a voice she lacked. She was fearful, and for good reason. She only felt that she had no voice because she wasn’t acknowledged by her father or siblings. Her voice was always there, she just wasn’t using it.

Another part that I did not like was how, during some points in the book, she was jealous of her siblings of the attention their father was giving them. She was jealous that her father was beating her siblings and her explanation was that he loved her siblings more. This is such a horrible mindset. At one point, Anke says,

“…and I’m jealous! with a sick acidic burbling bile. I want what they have, as horrible curdling vile as it is. Darren and Yaicha get more than me.” 

Anke’s thoughts were just in the wrong place. It is sad for her to think that, but it was like she was feeling sorry for herself when really, she should be channeling that energy into taking down the Anger that is her father.

Another aspect of the plot that I did not like was the way that Anke handled the entire situation. She really could have and should have spoken up against her father to the police. Although screaming curses at her father takes bravery, it was also very stupid. She should have just gone straight to the police. This would have eliminated the broken leg and all the drama. The police would have just come in and taken him into custody immediately and the book would have ended in twenty pages. This would have also eliminated all the collateral damage that the father caused while he was wreaking havoc on the world.

And of course I understand that it would be very difficult to take a stand in such a personal situation, but there are many points in the book when Anke says that she should turn her father in and then talks herself out of it. It’s very frustrating to read.

And another point. It doesn’t make sense why once Anke yells at her father that the rest of the family finally decides to take action and kick his butt to the curb. It shouldn’t take this long to turn him in and kick him out. The mother should have taken action long before the book started, at the first signs of instability in her husband. There shouldn’t be a book about it because they should have done something about the situation a long time ago. It’s just very frustrating to read this book, and although the ending in satisfying, everything leading up to it is not.

What free verse books have you read and would recommend? Please let me know in the comments below!

One thought on “Review: Because I Am Furniture by Thalia Chaltas

  1. Pingback: Anna’s September Wrap Up! | teastainedreviews

Leave a comment